Bharat Ratna Awardees important points for exams

Bharat Ratna Award 2019

This article is all about the Bharat Ratna Award in which important points related to exams are discussed. The Bharat Ratna Award is the highest civilian award of the republic of India. It is awarded in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavour.The former president Pranab Mukherjee, social activist Nanaji Deshmukh (posthumously) and musician Dr Bhupen Hazarika got Bharat Ratna award in 2019.

Facts about Bharat Ratna

  • The first recipients of the Bharat Ratna were politician C. Rajagopalachari, philosopher Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, and Scientist C.V Raman, who were honoured in 1954.
  • Former Prime Minister Lal Bahadur Shastri became the first individual to be honoured posthumously.
Bharat Ratna Awardees
Bharat Ratna
  • Cricketer Sachin Tendulkarbecame the youngest recipient for Bharat Ratna in 2014.
  • Only two national foreign are awarded by this award, Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan in 1987 and Nelson Mandelain 1990.
  • The only filmmaker who was conferred with this award Satyajit Rey in 1992.
  • The only person from industrialist and business background to receive this award was JRD Tata in 1992.
  • A catholic nun and the founder of Missionaries of Charity, Mother Terasa was awarded Bharat Ratna in 1980. She was also given Nobel Peace prize the year before, i.e. 1979.
  • Indira Gandhi became the first woman to receive the Bharat Ratna award in 1971. She was named as the ‘’Woman of the Millennium’’ in a poll which was organised by BBC in 1999.

Bharat Ratna Awards 2019

The former president Pranab Mukherjee, social activist Nanaji Deshmukh (posthumously) and musician Dr Bhupen Hazarika got Bharat Ratna award in 2019.

Nanaji Deshmukh/Bharat Ratna Award 2019

  • Nanaji Deshmukh was born in 1916 in a Marathi family in Maharashtra. As a child, he was inspired by freedom fighter Bal Gangadhar Tilak.
  • Nanaji Deshmukh had been a member of RSS, which is the BJP’s ideological mentor. He had worked as the RSS pracharak in Uttar Pradesh.
Nanaji Deshmukh/Bharat Ratna Award 2019
Nanaji Deshmukh
  • As a social activist, he laid emphasis on education. He established first Sarswati Shishu Mandir at Gorakhpur in 1950.
  • Nanaji Deshmukh also took part in Jai Prakash Narayan movement during the Emergency.
  • Nanaji Deshmukh had won in the 1977 Lok Sabha election from Balrampur.
  • He quit politics in 1980 and resigned as a member of parliament.
  • He was nominated to Rajya Sabha by the government in the year 1999 in recognition of his services to the nation.
  • He was awarded Padma Vibhushanin 1999. He died in 2010.  

Pranab Mukherjee/Bharat Ratna Award 2019

  • Pranab Mukherjee Served as the 13thPresident of India from 2012 untill 2017.
  • A veteran congressman, Pranab Mukherjee had held various key portfolios like Finance,Defenceand External Affairs as Union Minister.
  • Pranab Mukherjee was born in a Bengali family.He earned an MA degree in Political Science and history and LL.B from the University of Calcutta.
  • Before entering politics, he had worked as a journalist with a local Bengali newspaper, named ‘Desher Dak’.
  • Mukherjee was introduced to politics in 1969 by the then Prime Minister Indira Gandhi, who guided him to become a member at the Rajya Sabha.
Pranab Mukherjee/Bharat Ratna Award 2019
Facts about Pranab Mukherjee
  • In 1984, Mukherjee was voted the Best Finane Minister in the World by Euromoney magazine. He is the only finance minister to have presented seven budgets.
  • After the demise of Indira Gandhi, Mukherjee quit the congress and formed his own political party, the Rashtriya Samajwadi Party.
  • The party in 1989 merged with the congress after an agreement with Rajiv Gandhi.
  • Holding the position of president, he has rejected 24 mercy please including that of Yakub Memon, Ajmal kasab, and Afzal Guru.
  • Mukherjee has authored few books including Beyond Survival: Emerging Dimensions of India Economy (1984), Saga of Struggle and Sacrifice (1993), The Dramatic Decade: The Indira Gandhi Years (2014).

Bhupen Hazarika/Bharat Ratna Award 2019

  • Bhupen Hazarika was a playback singer, lyricist, musician, singer, poet and film-maker from Assam, widely known as Sudhakantha.
  • Bhupen Hazarika was born in 1926 in Assam’s Tinsukia district.
  • He attended Columbia University from where he completed his PhD in Mass Communication.
Bhupen Hazarika/Bharat Ratna Award 2019
Bhupen Hazarika
  • He is popularly known as the ‘Bard of Brahmaputra’ for his evergreen songs like ‘Dil hoom hoom kare’ and ‘O Ganga behtio ho kyun’.
  • He mainly wrote and sang in the Assamese language.
  • He was much influenced by tribal music.
  • He received the National Film Awardfor Best Music Direction in 1975.
  • Hazarika was awarded with Dada Sahab Phalke award , India’s highest award in cinema in 1992.

Leave a Comment

About JMC Study Hub

About JMC Sahitya

JMC Study Hub is India’s first largest and dedicated learning platform of Journalism and Mass Communication. 

Email :

Latest Post
Latest Video

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Quick Revision

Want to crack UGC-NET Exam?

Courses out for June 2024 Exam.

Hurry up now.

Open chat
Ned help ?
Hello, welcome to “JMC Study Hub”. How can we assist you?