Day 37- Daily Mass Communication Quiz (DMCQ)

Very Important for the NTA UGC NET Exam (Paper II- Journalism and Mass Communication) and Ph.D. Entrance Exam. This Mass Communication Quiz is also important for Master and Bachelor courses entrance exam like Central Universities Common Entrance Test (CUCET), Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU), Aligarh Muslim University (AMU), Jamia Millia Islamia (JMI) and Banaras Hindu University (BHU) etc.,
Day wise DMCQ

Daily Mass Communication Quiz (DMCQ) boost your concepts through day wise solved quiz from the entire course of Journalism and Mass communication (JMC) with detail explanations.

Journalism and Mass Communication Objective Questions (DMCQ)

Q 1. The Press Council set up under the Act of 1965 functioned till

(A) January 1975

(B) December 1975

(C) January 1976

(D) December 1976

Correct Answer: (B) December 1975

Explanation: It started functioning on November 16 46 years ago, under the Press Council Act, 1965, as an autonomous, quasi-judicial body with 22 members headed by a former Justice of Supreme Court of India. It worked up to December 1975 when the Indira Gandhi Government abolished it saying it did not serve its purpose.

Q 2. The Vernacular Press Act (1878) was also called

(A) Coercive Control Law

(B) Full Control Law

(C) Lytton’s Act

(D) Rippon’s Act

Correct Answer: (C) Lytton’s Act

Explanation: Vernacular Press Act of 1878, proposed by Lytton the then Viceroy of India (1876-80)was also known as Gagging Act or Lytton’s Act and it was meant only for vernacular/ native language newspaper not for English ones.

Q 3. The First Press Council was set up in

(A) 1946

(B) 1956

(C) 1966

(D) 1976

Correct Answer: (C) 1966

Explanation: The Press Council of India was first established in the year 1966 by the Parliament of India, recommended by the first Press Commission. The object was to preserve the freedom of the press and for maintaining and improving the standards of the press in India.

Q 4. The term of the Press Council is

(A) 6 years

(B) 5 years

(C) 4 years

(D) 3 years

Correct Answer: (D) 3 years

Explanation: The term of the Chairman and the members of the Council is three years. A retiring member is eligible for recombination for not more than one term.

Q 5. When was the office of the Registrar of Newspapers for India (RNI) started?

(A) 1 July 1956

(B) 4 July 1956

(C) 1 July 1957

(D) 4 June 1958

Correct Answer: (A) 1 July 1956

Explanation: The Office of the Registrar of Newspapers for India, more popularly known as RNI came into being on 1st July, 1956, on the recommendation of the First Press Commission in 1953 and by amending the Press and Registration of Books Act 1867.

Q 6. Who made the registration of newspapers compulsory in 1835?

(A) John Adams

(B) Lord Lytton

(C) Lord William Bentick

(D) Sir Charles Metcalfe

Correct Answer: (D) Sir Charles Metcalfe

Explanation: The new Metcalfe act 1835 required the publisher to follow a registration procedure and give a precise account of premises of publication. This act was imposed during the 1857 revolt to restrict the publication.

Q 7. The Indian Institute of Mass Communication does not have a branch at

(A) Madurai (Tamil Nadu)

(B) Jhabua (Madhya Pradesh)

(C) Kottayam (Kerala)

(D) Dhenkanal (Orissa)

Correct Answer: Madurai (Tamil Nadu)

Explanation: The Indian Institute of Mass Communication (IIMC) came into existence on 17 August 1965. The
Institute was established with the basic objectives of teaching, training and undertaking research
in the areas of mass communication. Its main campus is located in New Delhi. IIMC has Regional
Campuses at Dhenkanal, Odisha (established 1993), Aizawl, Mizoram (2011), Amravati,
Maharashtra (2011), Jammu, J&K (2012), Kottayam, Kerala (2012).

Q 8. Which is the oldest feature agency operating in India?

(A) Indian Press Agency

(B) United News of India

(C) Gemini Features

(D) India News and Feature Alliance

Correct Answer: (D) India News and Feature Alliance

Explanation: India News and Feature Alliance (INFA) is India’s leading news and feature agency.An independent syndicate, it was founded on 14 November 1959 by Durga Das following his retirement as the Editor-in-Chief of the Hindustan Times.

Q 9. When was Television introduced in India?

(A) 5 September 1958

(B) 15 September 1959

(C) 21 September 1959

(D) 1 September 1960

Correct Answer: (B) 15 September 1959

Explanation: Television began in India on 15th September 1959 as an experiment. It offered two-hour programme for a week. Initially the authority was AIR.

Q 10. Which was the first Indian-owned English newspaper?

(A) Bengal Gazette

(B) Bengal Herald

(C) Bombay Herald

(D) Reformer

Correct Answer: (A) Bengal Gazette

Explanation: Hicky’s Bengal Gazette was the first English-language newspaper and the first printed newspaper to be published in both the Indian sub-continent and in Asia. The newspaper became famous not only among the British soldiers posted in India at that time but also inspired Indians to write newspapers of their own.

Leave a Comment

About JMC Study Hub

About JMC Sahitya

JMC Study Hub is India’s first largest and dedicated learning platform of Journalism and Mass Communication. 

Email :

Latest Post
Latest Video

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Quick Revision

Want to crack UGC-NET Exam?

Courses out for June 2024 Exam.

Hurry up now.

Open chat
Ned help ?
Hello, welcome to “JMC Study Hub”. How can we assist you?