List of Information and Broadcasting Ministers of India in chronological order

If you're interested in the history of Indian media and its governance, you may want to know who has held the position of Information and Broadcasting Minister in India over the years. The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting is responsible for policies related to print and electronic media, films, advertising, and public relations.
List of Information and Broadcasting Ministers of India in chronological order

Since India’s independence in 1947, several prominent politicians have served as Information and Broadcasting Ministers, shaping the country’s media landscape in various ways. In this blog post, we present a chronological list of all the Information and Broadcasting Ministers of India, along with their tenure and some key facts about their contributions and controversies. From the first Minister, B. V. Keskar, to the current one, Anurag Thakur, you’ll get a glimpse of the diverse personalities and priorities that have influenced the media ecosystem of India.

Here is the list of Information and Broadcasting Ministers of India in chronological order:

  1. Vallabhbhai Patel (1947-1950)
  2. R. R. Diwakar (1950-1952)
  3. B. V. Keskar (1952-1962)
  4. Bezawada Gopala Reddy (1962-1963)
  5. Satyendra Narayan Sinha (1963-1964)
  6. Indira Gandhi (1964-1966)
  7. Raj Bahadur (1966-1967)
  8. Kodardas Kalidas Shah (1967-1969)
  9. Satya Narayan Sinha (1969-1971)
  10. Indira Gandhi (1971-1973)
  11. Inder Kumar Gujral (1973-1975)
  12. L. K. Advani (1975-1977)
  13. Vidya Charan Shukla (1975-1977)
  14. Lal Krishna Advani (1977-1979)
  15. Purushottam Kaushik (1979-1980)
  16. Vasant Sathe (1980-1982)
  17. N. K. P. Salve (1982-1983)
  18. H. K. L. Bhagat (1983-1984)
  19. Vitthalrao Gadgil (1984-1986)
  20. Ajit Kumar Panja (1986-1988)
  21. H. K. L. Bhagat (1988-1989)
  22. P. Upendra (1989-1990)
  23. Chandra Shekhar (1990-1991)
  24. Ajit Kumar Panja (1991-1993)
  25. Kamakhya Prasad Singh Deo (1993-1995)
  26. P. A. Sangma (1995-1996)
  27. Sushma Swaraj (16 May 1996- 1 June 1996)
  28. C. M. Ibrahim (1996-1997)
  29. Jaipal Reddy (1997-1998)
  30. Sushma Swaraj (19 March 1998- 11 October 1998)
  31. Atal Bihari Vajpayee (11 Oct 1998- 5 December 1998)
  32. Pramod Mahajan (1998-1999)
  33. Arun Jaitley (1999-2000)
  34. Sushma Swaraj (2000-2003)
  35. Ravi Shankar Prasad (2003-2004)
  36. Jaipal Reddy (2004-2005)
  37. Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi (2005-2008)
  38. Manmohan Singh (2008-2009)
  39. Ambika Soni (2009-2012)
  40. Manish Tewari (2012-2014)
  41. Prakash Javadekar (26 May 2014- 9 Nov 2014)
  42. Arun Jaitley (2014-2016)
  43. Venkaiah Naidu (2016-2017)
  44. Smriti Irani (2017-2018)
  45. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore (2018-2019)
  46. Prakash Javadekar (2019-2021)
  47. Anurag Singh Thakur (2021-Incumbent)

“We hope this blog post has been helpful in preparing for your UGC-NET or Journalism and Mass Communication exams. We encourage you to share your thoughts in the comments section below and join in the conversation. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we look forward to hearing from you!”

About us

JMC Study Hub is an online, dedicated largest learning platform of Journalism and Mass Communication. We turn your dreams into reality and provide various online free and paid courses, study materials, preparation tips, mock test, online quizzes and many more to crack the UGC-NET Exam and several other mass communication entrance exam effortlessly.

JMC Interview
JMC Sahitya

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Quick Revision
error: Content is protected !!

Want to crack UGC-NET Exam?

4th Batch Courses out for June 2023 Exam. Choose among various courses.

Hurry up now.

Open chat
Ned help ?
Hello, welcome to “JMC Study Hub”. How can we assist you?